N° 71/10




Washington, D.C., July 20, 2010—The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) of the Organization of American States (OAS) held the 139th regular period of sessions on July 12-16, 2010. The IACHR is composed of Felipe González, Chair; Paulo Sérgio Pinheiro, First Vice-Chair; Dinah Shelton, Second Vice-Chair; and Commissioners Luz Patricia Mejía, María Silvia Guillén, José de Jesús Orozco, and Rodrigo Escobar. The Executive Secretary is Santiago A. Canton.


The next period of sessions will run from October 20 through November 5, and the deadline for submitting requests for hearings and working meetings is August 31, 2010, as established in Article 64.2 of the IACHR Rules of Procedure. In addition, the Commission decided the dates of the sessions that will take place in 2011. The 141st Period of Sessions will be held from March 21 to April 1, the 142nd, which will only consist of internal sessions of the Commission, will take place from July 18 to 22, and the 143rd will run from October 19 to November 4.


During the session, the IACHR studied numerous individual petitions and cases that allege violations of human rights protected by the American Convention on Human Rights, the American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man, and other inter-American instruments. Following is a list of petitions and cases on which reports were approved during the 139th period of sessions. Once the parties have been notified, the Inter-American Commission will post on its website the reports in which the decisions are of a public nature.



A.      Admissibility Reports


Petition 305-05, Juan Luis Pimentel Román, Chile

Petition 10.455, Valentín Basto Calderón et al., Colombia

Petition 11.444, Amparo Constante Merizalde, Ecuador

Petition 11.587, César Gustavo Garzón Guzmán, Ecuador

Petition 691-04, Omar Francisco Canales Ciliezar, Honduras

Petition 161-01, Irineo Martínez Torres and Candelario Martínez Damián, Mexico

Petition 980-04, Fernando Rodríguez González, Mexico

Petitions 574-98, Luis Alejandro Miranda Moscol; 1067-03, Jorge Eduardo Olivares del Carpio; 766-04, Aurelio Aquino Pari; and 863-04, Boris Mijail Taype Castillo, Peru

Petition 1064-98, Esteban Juan Martínez Pérez, Peru

Petition 11.845, Jeremías Osorio Rivera et al., Peru

Petition 12.154, Luis Alberto Vega Paquillo, Peru

Petition 147-98, Oscar Muelle Flores, Peru

Petitions 621-03, Ramón Campos Esparza, and 1378-04, Roberto Antonio Olórtegui Trinidad, Peru


B.      Inadmissibility Reports


Petition 12.499, Miguel Woliniec Krovic and Family, Paraguay

Petition 12.119, Association of Retired Oil Workers of Peru - Metropolitan Area of Lima and Callao, Peru

Petition 12.280, Martha Alfaro Suárez et al., Peru



C.      Reports on the Merits


The IACHR adopted a total of eight reports on the merits, one of which was a decision to publish:

Case 12.562, Wayne Smith, Hugo Armendariz et al., United States


D.      Reports on Friendly Settlements


Case 12.642, José Iván Corra Arévalo, Mexico

Case 12.660, Ricardo Ucán Seca, Mexico


E.       Archive Reports


Case 1122-03, José Quirino Alves Júnior, Brazil

Case 10.870, José Arenas Marín et al., Colombia

Case 12.366, Ligia Esther Garzón Pinzón, Colombia

Case 11.757, Guillermo Villamizar Toledo, Colombia

Case 12.334, X, Colombia

Case 12.136, Seguismundo Gerardo Porras Jiménez, Costa Rica

Case 12.294, Víctor Eugenio Barrios Fernández, Costa Rica

Case 917-04, Ana María del Rosario Cóbar Estrada, Guatemala

Case 11.606, Oscar Manolo Otzoy Tubac, Guatemala

Case 11.432, Guillermo Sevilla Sacasa and Lilian Somoza de Sevilla Sacasa, Nicaragua

Case 10.918, Members of the Unified Union of Education Workers, Peru

Case 11.698, Ana María López Flores et al., Peru

Case 11.177, Juan Manuel Castro Vizcarra, Peru

Case 11.811, María de Jesús García Sánchez et al., Peru


Moreover, between the 138th and the 139th Period of Sessions, the IACHR electronically approved the following Admissibility Reports:


Petition 827-98, Rutaldo Elmer Alejo Saavedra, and Petition 798-03, Raúl Andrés Arias Condori, Peru

Petition 737-01, Guillermo Ernesto Yapias Camavilca, Peru

Petition 245-05, Juan Carlos Jahuaco Asimbaya, Ecuador


A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who act in a personal capacity, without representing a particular country, and who are elected by the OAS General Assembly.


Useful links
Official Picture of the 139 Period of Sessions

IACHR Press Office

IACHR Web site




Read this press release in Spanish / Lea este comunicado de prensa en español


Press contact: María Isabel Rivero
Tel. (202) 458-3867


To subscribe to the IACHR press release mailing list, please type your e-mail address in this form.