N° 49/10




Washington, D.C., May 5, 2010—The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) filed two applications with the Inter-American Court of Human Rights in April, in cases related to Argentina and Ecuador.


On April 18, 2010, the IACHR filed an application in Case 12.533, Iván Eladio Torres et al., Argentina. The case involves the arbitrary detention, torture, and forced disappearance of Iván Eladio Torres, which occurred beginning on October 3, 2003, in the city of Comodoro Rivadavia, in Chubut province, and the subsequent lack of due diligence in the investigation of the facts, as well as the denial of justice to the detriment of the victim's relatives. The case was sent to the Court based on the need to conduct a diligent investigation for the purpose of obtaining truth, justice, and reparation for the damage caused by the violations perpetrated against Iván Eladio Torres and his relatives.


In another matter, on April 26, 2010, the IACHR filed an application in Case 12.465, the Kichwa Peoples of the Sarayaku Community and Its Members, Ecuador. The case involves the State's acts and omissions to the detriment of the Kichwa indigenous people of the Sarayaku community and its members, given that the State has allowed an oil company to carry out activities on the community's ancestral territory without prior consultation, placing the population at risk. This situation has made it impossible for the indigenous community to seek its means of subsistence in its territory and has restricted its right to movement within the territory. The case also refers to the denial of judicial protection and due process to the Kichwa people of Sarayaku. The case was sent to the Court based on the need for the State to respect and guarantee the right of the Kichwa indigenous people of Sarayaku to use, enjoy, and avail themselves of their territory. 


A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who act in a personal capacity, without representing a particular country, and who are elected by the OAS General Assembly.


Useful links:  

IACHR Press Office

IACHR website




Read this press release in Spanish / Lea este comunicado de prensa en espańol


Press contact: María Isabel Rivero
Tel. (202) 458-3867


To subscribe to the IACHR press release mailing list, please type your e-mail address in this form.