N° 103/10




Washington, D.C., October 15, 2010 – The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) announces the schedule of hearings for the 140th Period of Sessions, which will take place from October 20 to November 5, 2010. The hearings will be held on October 25, 26, 28 and 29 in the General Secretariat Building of the Organization of American States (OAS), 1889 F St. NW, Washington, D.C.


The IACHR will give a press conference at the end of the 140th Period of Sessions, on Friday, November 5, at 12:00, local time in Washington, in the San Martin Room of the Main OAS Building (17th. Street NW at Constitution Ave.) The press conference will be Webcast, and questions may be send by e-mail to the IACHR Press Office.


Audio recordings of all public hearings will be posted on a dedicated page of the Commission’s Web site and the hearings held in the Padilha Vidal Room will be webcast on the OAS site. The Schedule of Hearings is published as an annex to this press release. (Open here the pdf version to print; read here details on interpretation and Webcast channels)


The videos of the hearings held in the Padilha Vidal will be posted on the Commission’s Webpage. Those interested may request high-quality copies of the recordings. All details on these services are available in the Guidelines for Press Coverage of Public Hearings.


Private hearings will not be webcast, nor will video or audio recordings be available, and no members of the public or the press will be allowed to enter. The IACHR does not publish transcripts of hearings.


Anyone interested in attending the public hearings may do so, and no advance registration is required. Journalists do not need any special accreditation.


A principal, autonomous body of the Organization of American States (OAS), the IACHR derives its mandate from the OAS Charter and the American Convention on Human Rights. The Inter-American Commission has the mandate to promote respect for human rights in the region and acts as a consultative body to the OAS in this matter. The Commission is composed of seven independent members who act in a personal capacity, without representing a particular country, and who are elected by the OAS General Assembly.



Schedule of Hearings for 140th Period of Sessions

Calendar of hearings, version to print (pdf)

Information on available interpretation for each hearing and Webcast channels (pdf)

Guidelines for Press Coverage of Public Hearings

Page of Videos and Audio Recordings of IACHR Public Hearings

IACHR Press Office

IACHR Home page



Read this press release in Spanish / Lea este comunicado de prensa en español


Press contact: María Isabel Rivero
Tel. (202) 458-3867


To subscribe to the IACHR press release mailing list, please type your e-mail address in this form.